Monday, April 15
Shadow

Tag: minimum wage in Virginia

What You Would Need to Know About the Virginia Minimum Wage

What You Would Need to Know About the Virginia Minimum Wage

Finance
As a business owner in Virginia, you must follow all laws pertaining to the employment of Virginia residents. One of the most important labour regulations in each state is the minimum wage requirement. Several U.S. states, including Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee, don't have their own minimum wages and are thus only required to pay the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour to their employees. Since the federal minimum wage became the standard in 2009, this is the case. The minimum wage in the other 15 states that have their own minimum has also been maintained at $7.25 per hour by popular vote. North Carolina, Georgia, and North Dakota are only a few examples. As a result, Virginia has the 19th highest minimum wage in the United States at $12.00 per h...